A determined defensive effort and passionate commitment in Christchurch has seen Pumas defeat All Blacks 25-18.

Argentina made history Saturday with a stunning 25-18 Rugby Championship win over New Zealand in Christchurch.

The result, which cemented Los Pumas’ place at the top of the tournament standings, piled further pressure on the All Black and their retained coach Ian Foster.

Editor’s pick:

Playing with passion and physicality, the Pumas won the battle of the breakdown and benefited with 20 points from the boot of wing Emiliano Boffelli to lodge just their second win over the All Blacks and their first on New Zealand soil.

The home side, who squandered an early 15-6 lead, have now lost six of their last eight Tests and can expect more severe criticism after the pressure had eased following their defeat of the Springboks in Johannesburg.

Strong second half defence by the Pumas denied the All Blacks any real scoring opportunities.

New Zealand 18 
[Tries: Clarke, Taukei’aho; Con: Mo’unga; Pens: Mo’unga 2]

Argentina 25 [Try: Gonzalez; Con: Boffelli; Pens: Boffelli 6]

New Zealand: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Will Jordan, 13 Rieko Ioane, 12 David Havili, 11 Caleb Clarke, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Ardie Savea, 7 Sam Cane (captain), 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Sam Whitelock, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Ethan de Groot.
Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 George Bower, 18 Fletcher Newell, 19 Tupou Vaa’i, 20 Akira Ioane, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Stephen Perofeta, 23 Quinn Tupaea.

Argentina: 15 Juan Cruz Mallia, 14 Emiliano Boffelli, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Matias Orlando, 11 Lucio Cinti, 10 Santiago Carreras, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Pablo Matera, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Juan Martin Gonzalez, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Joel Sclavi, 2 Julian Montoya (captain), 1 Thomas Gallo.
Replacements: 16 Santiago Socino, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Eduardo Bello, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Santiago Grondona, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Tomas Albornoz, 23 Santiago Cordero.

Referee: Nika Amashukeli (Georgia)
Assistant referees: Nic Berry (Australia), Jordan Way (Australia)
TMO: Brian McNeice (Ireland)