All Blacks name squad for second Rugby Championship match against Springboks

All Blacks perform Haka. Photo Courtesy/All Blacks.
All Blacks perform Haka. Photo Courtesy/All Blacks.

All Blacks head coach Ian Foster has named his side for the second Rugby Championship Test against South Africa at Ellis Park Stadium

Uncapped tighthead prop Fletcher Newell has been introduced to the match-day 23 as front row cover, while props Ethan de Groot and Tyrel Lomax have been named in the run-on side. They are joined by hooker Samisoni Taukeiaho, while 69-Test veteran Codie Taylor returns to match-day 23 as cover.


Blindside flanker Shannon Frizell has also been moved into the run-on side after being used as an impact player during the first Test in Mbombela, marking his 14th appearance in the number six jersey.

In the back row, he is joined by Ardie Savea and captain Sam Cane who will surpass Jerome Kaino (81) as the third-most capped All Black loose forward in Tests.

Editor’s pick:

The only change made to the backline is at first-five eighths. Richie Mo’unga will run out in the number 10 jersey for the first time this season, as he closes in on Carlos Spencer (291) for sixth place on the All Blacks’ all-time points-scoring list.

“Belief and confidence remain high in our group, which is working incredibly hard this week,” said Foster. “Playing at Ellis Park is always a special occasion for any All Black team, and this weekend will be no different.

“Adding to that, the Freedom Cup is on the line which makes this a challenge that everyone is looking forward to.”

All Blacks match-day 23 (Test caps in brackets):

1. Ethan de Groot (5)

2. Samisoni Taukei’aho (12)

3. Tyrel Lomax (15)

4. Samuel Whitelock (135)

5. Scott Barrett (51)

6. Shannon Frizell (18)

7. Sam Cane © (81)

8. Ardie Savea (63)

9. Aaron Smith (106)

10. Richie Mo’unga (36)

11. Caleb Clarke (6)

12. David Havili (17)

13. Rieko Ioane (51)

14. Will Jordan (16)

15. Jordie Barrett (40)

All Blacks squad. Photo Courtesy/All Blacks

All Blacks squad. Photo Courtesy/All Blacks


16. Codie Taylor (69)

17. George Bower (15)

18. Fletcher Newell *

19. Tupou Vaa’i (13)

20. Akira Ioane (15)

21. Finlay Christie (7)

22. Beauden Barrett (105)

23. Quinn Tupaea (10)


Story Courtesy/All Blacks.

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top