Zetech Oaks defeat TUM Marines to win 2024 Nationwide title

Zeteck Oaks pose in new kits. PHOTO/Zetech Oaks

Zetech Oaks sealed their impressive season by winning the Nationwide National title with a 31-13 victory over TUM Marines in the final played at RFUEA Grounds.

In the opening half, Zetech edged TUM with a try by scrum-half Jack Mangale, which Clement Ashila converted.

Zetech Oaks penalties

Mangale then added three penalties for Zetech. TUM Marines responded with a try from eighthman Seif Mohammed, while Elias Gitonga added a conversion and a penalty, bringing their total to 10 points.

Zetech Oaks players pose for a scrum photo. PHOTO/Zetech Oaks

Zetech Oaks players pose for a scrum photo. PHOTO/Zetech Oaks

Zetech Oaks coach Ramsefield Matekwa’s halftime talk seemed to work wonders as they added 15 points without conceding any try.

Ashila intercepted deep in their own 22 before offloading to Gilbert Odhiambo, who scored near the posts. Mangale was accurate with the conversion.

Continued pressure from Zetech bore fruit when Brian Ondego took a quick tap and fended off two defenders to score in the corner. This time, Mangale’s conversion attempt was unsuccessful, leaving the score at 28-10.

Another penalty by Mangale extended Zetech’s lead to 31-10.

Both Zetech Oaks and TUM Marines will join the Championship, replacing Shamas Foundation and Kabarak University.

Zetech Oaks squad

1 Evans Kiluva 2. Michael Kamunge 3. Stanley Mbuthia 4. Mike Wekesa (Ac) 5. Isaac Odhiambo 6. Gilbert Odhiambo 7. Fidel Chimwani 8. Oliver Kilibwa 9. Jack Mangale 10. Johnson Wafula (C) 11. Ken Wafula 12. Clement Ashila 13. Bryan Ondego 14. Mark Demba 15. Anderson Oduor

Replacements 16. Sammy Odhiambo 17. Jared Obuya 18. Ian Wandu 19. Brian Chemuku 20. Noel Juma 21. Lincoln Njagi 22. Brian Maina 23. Gaylord Masiva 24. Brian Wechuli 25. Georgil Kedi

TUM Marines

1.Philip Atichi 2.Brian Sawayi 3.Nelson Obedde 4.Byron Omondi 5.Elias Gitonga 6.Eliazar Aaron 7.Peter Wanjala 8.Seif Mohammed 9.Henry Otieno 10.Moses Forore 11.Ephrem Gwako 12.Hillary Onyango 13.Ian Natembea 14.Baraza Bright 15.Ezra Mumbo


16.Noordin Abdhalla17.Ken Nyakundi18.Brian Odhiambo19.Anthony Kipkemoi20.Migel Steve21.Neville Obongita22.Joe Rachillo23.Leon Odero

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top