Kabras RFC hand Kenya 7s duo starts against Nondies in Kenya Cup semis

Kabras RFC players in the a past awarding ceremony. PHOTO/Scrummage Africa

Kabras RFC head coach Carlos Katywa has made seven changes to his squad ahead of their Kenya Cup semi-final clash against Nondies at Kakamega Showground on Saturday 3:00 p.m.

Among the notable changes is the return of Kevin Wekesa and Lamec Ambesta, who rejoin the starting squad after missing their previous 14-10 victory over KCB due to national team assignments.

Wekesa starts for Kabras RFC

Wekesa is set to start as a flanker alongside captain George Nyambua, while Gabriel Adero takes on the number eight role in place of the injured Jeanson Misoga.

Kabras RFC's Kevin Wekesa in action against Nakuru. Photo Courtesy/Cmony Images.

Kabras RFC’s Kevin Wekesa in action against Nakuru. Photo Courtesy/Cmony Images.

In the second row, Brian Juma partners with David Bunduki, while Eugene Sifuna is joined by Emmanuel Otieno and Asuman Mugerwa in the front row.

The backline sees two changes, with Griffin Chao slotting into the left wing position in the absence of Humphrey Asirikwa and Ambetsa taking on the full-back role. Brian Tanga moves to fly-half, Barry Robinson returns at 10, and Dan Angwech is benched.


With Robinson at fly-half, Walter Okoth and Ntabeni Dukisa maintain their partnership in the midfield, while Alfred Orege continues on the open wing.

On the bench, Bryceson Adaka makes his return from injury and is accompanied by Eric Cantona. However, leading scorer Derrick Ashihundu, playmaker Jone Kubu, and Mathias Osimbo remain sidelined.

Kabras' Jone Kubu takes a kick in a past match . Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-Half.

Kabras’ Jone Kubu takes a kick in a past match . Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-Half.

Kabras will be aiming to uphold their 100% win record in semi-finals as they seek to reach their ninth consecutive final.

  1. Emmanuel Otieno
  2. Eugene Sifuna
  3. Asuman Mugerwa
  4. David Bunduki
  5. Brian Juma
  6. George Nyambua
  7. Kelvin Wekesa
  8. Gabriel Adero
  9. Brian Tanga
  10. Barry Robinson
  11. Griffin Chao
  12. Walter Okoth
  13. Ntabeni Dukisa
  14. Alfred Orege
  15. Lamec Ambetsa
  16. Teddy Akala
  17. Edward Mwaura
  18. Ephrahim Oduor
  19. Hillary Odhiambo
  20. Patrick Lumumba
  21. Dan Angwech
  22. Bryceson Adaka
  23. Eric Cantona

ESS squad to play on Friday

  1. Fredrick Yoga
  2. Geoffrey Shitambasi
  3. Hillary Mwanjilwa
  4. Clinton Litali
  5. Andrew Wangila
  6. Thomas Simiyu
  7. Reinhard Mwalati
  8. Biden Hayo
  9. Collins Osore
  10. Eric Cantona
  11. Brian Kiptoo
  12. Hillary Salano
  13. Alvin Mutachi
  14. Victor Otieno
  15. Bede Enonda
  16. Gibson Perez
  17. Steve Oluoch
  18. Mike Mureithi
  19. Fortune Aturo
  20. Hamza Kassim
  21. Roy Maruti
  22. Jackson Sketa
  23. Paul Abuto

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top