Kabras RFC hold off Menengai Oilers to reach third consecutive Enterprise Cup final

Kabras RFC in a past scrum-contest. Photo Courtesy/Kabras RFC
Kabras RFC in a past scrum-contest. Photo Courtesy/Kabras RFC

Enterprise Cup holders Kabras RFC have booked a place in the final after holding off Menengai Oilers for a 19-17 win in a semi final played at Kakamega Showgrounds.

The results put them in a pole position to defend the Cup as well grab another double this season.

Kabras RFC and Oilers pathway

Sugarmen who last lost an Enterprise match in April 2018 going down 16-13 to Impala had reached the semifinals without kicking a ball due to walkovers against Kenya Harlequin and Strathmore Leos, while Oilers beat Nondies 53-5 to get to this stage.

After a tight opening 10 minutes, Kabras opened the scoring through Biden Hayo, who powered over the try line from a scrum. Valerian Tendwa added the conversion to give Kabras an early 7-0 lead.

Hayo scored his second try of the match shortly after, this time off a maul, but Tendwa missed the conversion.

Kabras continued to dominate and soon grabbed their third try of the match, with Kenyan International Bryceson Adaka touching down following a good play by the backline. Tendwa added the conversion to make it 19-0 as Kabras looked to be in control.

However, Menengai Oilers fought back and managed to score a try through Ibrahim Ayoo, with Goffrey Ominde converting to make it 19-7. They continued to pressure Kabras and managed to score another converted try just before halftime, bringing the score to 19-14 in Kabras’ favor.

In the second half, Menengai Oilers opted to go for points off a penalty and successfully converted, making it 19-17 as Jone Kubu was sent to the bin.

The scoreline would not change further as both sides defended resolutely to avoid conceding more points. Kabras will face KCB in the final next weekend.

Kabras RFC Enterprise Cup semi-final squad

1.Asuman Mugerwa 2.Eugene Sifuna 3. Emmanuel Otieno 4. Shem Angugo 5. Elphas Emong 6. Dan Sikuta 7. David Bunduki 8. Biden Hayo 9. Dan Angwech 10. Valerian Tendwa 11. Lameck Ambetsa 12. Malik Habil 13.Bryceson Adaka 14.Bede Enonda 15. Ntabeni Dukisa

Replacements: 16. Geoffrey Shitambasi 17. Ephraim Oduor 18. Hillary Mwajilwa 19. Collins Indeche 20. Thomas Simiyu 21. Barry Robinson 22. Jone Kubu 23. Hillary Salano

Menengai Oilers Enterprise Cup semi-final squad

1. Edward Mwaura, 2.Coleman Were, 3: Destorius Ifedha, 4. Ibrahim Ayoo, 5 Eric Miheso, 6. Tyson Maina, 7. Samuel Were, 8. Chrispin Shitundo, 9. Sam Onsomu, 10. Geoffrey Ominde, 11 Beldad Ogeta, 12. Johnstone Munga’u, 13. Dennis Abukuse, 14. Davis Otundo, 15. Eugen Lubanga,

Replacements: Emmanuel Mulla, Francis Atiti, Vincent Mwikhali, Clinton Odhiambo, Nixon Ochieng, Andrew Odero, Steve Arunga, Davis Nyaundi

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top