Namibia announce squad for Barthes Trophy set for Nairobi

Namibia and Zimbabwe in the 2022 Barthes Cup. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half

Namibia has announced its squad for the Rugby Africa U20 Barthes Trophy, which will take place in Nairobi from April 22-30, 2023.

Namibia, the former champions, will be aiming to reclaim the title that they lost to Kenya in 2019 in Nairobi.

The team includes two returning players, Ray-Eez Ferris and Owen Hawanga, from last season’s side that lost to Zimbabwe in the final.

The Rugby Africa U20 Barthes Trophy returns to Nairobi for a fourth time this April after previous editions in 2019,2021 & 2022.

The tournament, which serves as the Africa U20 Championship will be played from 22nd to 30th April at the Nyayo National Stadium and brings together eight of Africa’s leading U20 sides battling it out for the overall title and a ticket to this year’s World Rugby Junior Trophy which also takes place in Nairobi in July this year.

Namibia U20 Barthes Trophy Squad: Fillipus Tshuuya, Johan Brockman, Herman Coetzee, Lodewickus Karsten, Dandre Schreuder, Edward Drotsky, Hendrik de Beer, Theo Lintvelt, Nguvitja Tjaronda, Matthew Quinn, Michael Atkinson, Ray-Eez Ferris, Joe Corne Losper, Ferion Beukes, Salomo Martiz, Kisting Minyoi, Enrique Husselman, Dillion Kahmann, Armand Kotze, Ethan Koopman, Louis Steenkamp, Natie Janse van Rensburg, Owen Hawanga, Keanan Januarie, William Klazen, Manfred Garoeb, Nicolas Tromp, Divan Steyn  

NON TRAVELLING RESERVES: Johaness Husselman, Richter Steenkamp, Jayden Van Zyl, Otja Auala, Johandre Dege, Breyton Beukes, Lucihano Gaingob, Damian Van Den Ross, Ethan Williams, Dhaamin Bassardien

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top