Wales name 37-man squad for Six Nations

Wales celebrate. Photo Courtesy/You Tube

Wales head coach Warren Gatland has announced a 37-man squad for the 2023 Six Nations tournament.

Ken Owens will captain the squad for the championship. Several players who missed the Autumn Nations Series due to injury, including Wyn Jones, Dewi Lake, and Liam Williams, have been included in the squad.

There are also recalls for Leon Brown, Rhys Carre, Rhys Patchell, Aaron Wainwright, Rhys Webb, and Owen Williams.

The squad includes four uncapped players, Rhys Davies, Keiran Williams, Mason Grady, and Teddy Williams. Additionally, six players may make their Six Nations debut, including Rio Dyer, Joe Hawkins, and Dafydd Jenkins, who made their international debuts in November.

Gatland said: “It’s probably a bigger squad than I’d normally name, but we want to have a good Six Nations and also look forward to the world cup.

“We’ve some youngsters that have come in and then we’ve some older very experienced players that we need to manage. It’s looking at the whole element for the squad and how we get the balance right, because that’s definitely going to be a challenge over the next ten months.

Regarding the captaincy, Gatland added: “Ken’s incredibly experienced and a passionate Welshman – it means a lot to him to play for Wales. He’s also very popular with the players.

“He came back from injury and was absolutely outstanding during the autumn campaign. Probably, if you’re picking a team at the moment he’s the number one in that position. But he’s going to have some competition with Dewi and Bradley as well which is going to be great.”

The squad will meet up at the national training base in Hensol on Monday 23 January ahead of its first game against Ireland which will take place at a sold out Principality Stadium, Cardiff on Saturday 4 February (KO 14.15h).

In addition, Jonathan Thomas is confirmed as the final appointment to the Wales senior men’s coaching team. He will have responsibility for the contact area.

WALES SQUAD FOR 2023 Guiness Six Nations

Forwards (20)

Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby 17 caps)

Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 45 caps)

Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 17 caps)

Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 8 caps)

Ken Owens (Scarlets – 86 caps), Captain

Bradley Roberts (Dragons – 3 caps)

Leon Brown (Dragons – 22 caps)

Tomas Francis (Ospreys – 67 caps)

Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 45 caps)

Adam Beard (Ospreys – 41 caps)

Rhys Davies (Ospreys – uncapped)

Dafydd Jenkins (Exeter Chiefs – 1 cap)

Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 155 caps)

Teddy Williams (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)

Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 95 caps)

Jac Morgan (Ospreys – 6 caps)

Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – 4 caps)

Justin Tipuric (Ospreys – 89 caps)

Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs – 3 caps)

Aaron Wainwright (Dragons – 36 caps)


Backs (17)

Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 16 caps)

Rhys Webb (Ospreys – 36 caps)

Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 40 caps)

Dan Biggar (Toulon – 103 caps)

Rhys Patchell (Scarlets – 21 caps)

Owen Williams (Ospreys – 3 caps)

Mason Grady (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)

Joe Hawkins (Ospreys – 1 cap)

George North (Ospreys – 109 caps)

Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 25 caps)

Keiran Williams (Ospreys – uncapped)

Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 44 caps)

Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 55 caps)

Rio Dyer (Dragons – 3 caps)

Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets – 97 caps)

Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 22)

Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 81)

Most Popular

Africa’s premier rugby website covering the latest Rugby news, results, transfers, fixtures. Get Kenya Rugby News and from the rest of the Unions.

Copyright © 2023 Powered by Scrummage Barber and SAFGAK Limited

To Top