Quins make seven changes for Kabras clash

Kenya Harlequin Dominic Osino in action against Impala. Photo Courtesy/Denis Acre-half.

Kenya Harlequins had coach Paul Murunga has made seven changes to his side ahead of their Kenya Cup clash against Kabras RFC scheduled for Saturday 10 at Kakamega Showground.


Former Kabras man and vice-captain Dominic Osino is back in the fold after sitting out against Oilers the previous weekend. He starts at fullback, replacing Arnold Onzere who switches to the half-back department at flyhalf. The other change in the back three sees Dennis Nyongesa coming in for Joshua Okello at open wing. Charles Kinyanjui retains his spot at blind wing.

Onzere is joined by Lucky Dewald, who is making his third consecutive start for the Ngong –based side at scrumhalf.

The midfield pair sees a complete overhaul as Briton Wamalwa and Douglas Kahuri are called into the team, replacing Dennis Masengo and Kelly Aken’go at inside and outside centre respectively.

The pack has one change, Kenya under-20 Wilhite Mususi coming in for former Kabras man Charlton Mokua.  Mususi replaces Brian Waraba, who switches to the openside flank, at hooker, with Sheldon Kahi guarding the blindside flank.

Elisha Koronya and Micheal Tunnech retain their spots at loosehead and tighthead respectively. Skipper Micheal Onsando and Hillary Baraza pair in the second row with Mark Omoding completing the pack at eight.


Patrick Wainaina is set to make his debut and is named at the bench. Melvin Thairu, Brian Ratila and Laban Kipsang are also set to start from the bench.

Quins are in search for their first points of the season after back-to back defeats against KCB and last season finalist’s Menengai Oilers. They currently sit eleventh on the log.


1. Elisha Koronya 2. Wilhite Mususi 3. Meshack Tunnech 4. Micheal Onsando (C) 5. Hillary Baraza 6. Sheldon Kahi. 7. Brian Waraba 8. Mark Omoding 9. Lucky Dewald 10. Arnold Onzere 11. Charles Kinyanjui 12. Briton Mwalawa 13. Douglas Kahuri 14. Dennis Nyongesa 15. Dominic Osino (VC)


16. Mohammed Khaider 17. Melvin Thairu 18. Laban Kipsang 19. Leanard Fogang 20. Felix Makhokha 21. Patrick Wainaina 22. Cornelius Mokoro 23, Brian Watila

Most Popular

Africa's Premier Rugby website, bringing you African updates, Kenya Rugby Union news, results, rumours, transfers, Rugby League news and more from across the world.

Copyright © Scrummage 2022. powered by SAFGAK Limited

To Top
error: Content is protected !!